Dem Karakoy Tea House

Dem Karakoy Tea House

I’ve got good news for our international tea lovers who are planning to visit Istanbul soon. Dem Karakoy Tea House has opened its doors a few months ago for tea lovers. Serving more than 50 types of tea, Dem Karakoy definitely will fill a great void in Istanbul. It’s located in Karakoy, Istanbul which is very close to historic center of Istanbul.

Dem Karakoy Tea House

They’ve got wide range of all six type of teas alongside with tisanes.  As soon as we were seated, the waiter came over with a tea tray including samples of almost all teas served. My friend went for a Milky Oolong from China, whereas I preferred Darjeeling which I’ve been longing for a very long time.

Dem Karakoy Tea House

Only problem for me was tea ball that tea’s infused with. I don’t wanna seem like a tea snob   yet I never like tea balls unless you brew CTC teas. If you brew orthodox teas you gotta make sure that tea leaves have enough space to unfurl during infusion. However with tea balls, they get stuck in and never have a chance to release flavor and aroma fully.

In a nutshell, Dem Karakoy is a great tea house where you can enjoy good quality of tea at a reasonable price. If you happen to pass through Istanbul or you’re already in Istanbul, don’t forget to pay a visit this beautiful tea house.

