A Few Short Notes on Turkish Tea

Turkish Black Tea

Drew B (@teaxplorer) has recently written a great post about Turkish tea (i.e. CTC production black tea) on his blog. Although he stayed just a few days in Istanbul, he’s covered basics and subtleties of Turkish tea really well on this post.If you’ve not had the chance to read it, hurry up and take a look! I’d like to add just a few points without stealing the spotlight on his post.

Drew mentioned that he could not figured out how long turkish tea is brewed before it’s served. Average brewing time for Turkish tea is around 10-12 minutes according to Çaykur which is state-owned tea producer and main player in the tea market of Turkey.  However you can easily come across varying practices across the country. I’ve even seen people who insist that brewing time must be at least half an hour:) There is no accounting for taste, right? In my opinion 5-7 minutes brewing time is quite enough for standard Turkish black tea.

My second point regards tulip-shaped tea glasses which Drew correctly tags as the most iconic symbol of Turkish tea culture. I couldn’t agree more! These glasses are definitely the most distinctive feature of tea culture in Turkey.

Tulip  Photo - is courtesy of Kıvanç Niş
Tulip – Photo is courtesy of Kıvanç Niş

From time to time I get asked by non-Turkish friends what tea is best to try Turkish black tea. Though you can get different answers depending on whom you ask; my suggestion would be “42 No’lu Tirebolu Çayı” which is produced by Çaykur. Given its retail price ( 12-13 USD per kilo) it’s perfect for every day use and blending! Like all other Turkish black teas, it’s CTC production.

Tirebolu Black Tea
Tirebolu Black Tea
7 thoughts on “A Few Short Notes on Turkish Tea”

  1. Definitely steal the spotlight! You know a lot more about Turkish tea culture than I do. I hope you do a post with lots of pictures of your family’s tea garden.

  2. Hi, a great post. I’ve just got some tea given to me that was bought in Istanbal and looking to try and brew it as authentically as I can at home so great to know roughly how long to do it. I commented on Drew’s post and he mentioned you. I look forward to having a read through your blog as it looks interesting.

    1. I’m glad to hear that! I’ve written some posts about Turkish tea but none of them was too comprehensive. Actually you give me great idea for this week’s post. I can write about turkish way of brewing tea comprehensively. Hope that will give you more insight.

Comments are closed.