Tea Review: Four Season Oolong Tea by Tea From Taiwan

Tea From Taiwan

Region : Alishan, Taiwan
Price: $11.70 for 75 gr.
Leaf Appearance: Semiball-rolled leaves with attached stems
Steeping: Gongfu Style, six infusions.
Liquor: Golden Green-Yellow.

I haven’t had much chance to try Taiwanese oolong teas so far. I’m mostly a black tea guy who have been into Chinese oolong teas more and more for some years. Particularly Wuyi oolongs are my favorites. On the other hand Taiwan has always been source of great oolong teas. Previously I wrote a post regarding the importance of Taiwan in terms of oolong tea production. I’ve come across Tea From Taiwan by chance while surfing on the internet. I’ve ordered one of their sample packs, Feng Fu, along side with Bai Hao tea. The sample includes Long Feng Xia, Shan Ling Xi, Tsuei Luan, Four Season and Aged oolong teas. I’ve gone for Four Season tea to review in this post and what a treat!

Four Season tea is coming from famous Alishan mountain, it’s a textbook example of high mountain teas of Taiwan. It’s lightly oxidized, rich in flavor and aroma. I’ve brewed it by Gongfu style and did six infusions, starting with 30 seconds and then adding 15 seconds for extra infusion. First infusion took about 30 seconds and produced very rich flavor and aroma, quite milky and creamy. It lacks any astringency and produces natural sweetness. You can still get creamy and milky flavor in the second and third infusions alongside with flowery taste. In the fourth infusion, you get only a hint of milkiness and creaminess; yet still strong aroma and flavor-wise. We’ve done six infusions and if you like you can do a few more.

It’s quite rainy here in Istanbul today, and this oolong tea from Taiwan put a great light on my day :)This tea is highly recommended. You won’t have any remorse!

P.S. I’ll review other teas that I’ve got from Tea From Taiwan in upcoming posts very soon.

Four Season Oolong Tea

Four Season Oolong Tea

Four Season Tea

Four Season Tea

Four Season Tea

