Tea Review: Dong Ding Oolong Tea by Taiwan Tea Crafts

Dong Ding Oolong Tea

Recently I’m into Taiwanese oolong teas; I guess rich flavor and aroma is the main reason. Previously I’ve tried four oolong teas from Tea From Taiwan and they were nothing but exquisite. Having such a great experience with them I’ve decided to go with another tea company from Taiwan: Taiwan Tea Crafts. I’ve ordered Dong Ding oolong tea along with some Taiwanese black tea.
Dong Ding oolong tea is one of their lowly oxidized teas. Dry tea leaves are tiny rolled balls with mostly dark green leaves. When you smell them you can get a hint of creaminess.
Before first infusion I rinsed teas in order to get leaves ready for brewing. I’ve gone with Gongfu brewing and for first infusion I set my timer at 30 seconds. It was rich and sweet with a good body and thickness. Lingering aftertaste was very refreshing and something you wanna hold on to…Second brew was about 45 seconds and it was even better than first one both flavor and aroma-wise. Third brew was about a minute and that’s where I guess it reached the peak point. I made another three infusions, in total six, adding 20-30 seconds for each one. Starting with the fourth one it got lighter liquor-wise and weaker aroma and flavor-wise; yet quite satisfying.

Dong Ding Oolong Tea
Spent tea leaves are mostly whole leaves which is very good indication of good quality. Generally mature, wide leaves are used to make oolong teas but this one is different; smaller and younger tea leaves are used in this one.
Overall; it’s very nice, refreshing, sweet and rich everyday oolong tea by Taiwan Tea Crafts. If you’re looking for Taiwanese oolong teas, they are one of the right places to satisfy your thirstiness.

Dong Ding Oolong Tea

